George Thorogood Is Ridin' Til' He Dies

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (1)

read the review

30 Years of Rock

George Thorogood & the Destroyers Greatest Hits: 30 Years of Rock Will Be On The Shelves MAY 18, 2004

By Keith Hannaleck, 4/8/2004

t is hard to believe that George Thorogood has been spinning a yarn and rockin' audiences for over 30 years now. It seems like only yesterday that the blistering riffs from "Bad To The Bone" were blasting out of everyone's speakers. I guess I cannot flatter myself because it really has been that long. Music like Thorogood's keeps me young inside, all music does, and that is why I feel like I am only 18 inside.

George Thorogood & the Destroyers Greatest Hits: 30 Years of Rock covers a long stretch of successes. He continues on to this very day with new studio recordings and endless touring. I know his back catalog is hefty at this point and many fans will ask were certain songs are, this is when the inevitable adage comes into play - you cannot please everyone. I honestly believe that for one CD, this collection does a great job of highlighting the career of an American music legend. Sixteen tracks of smokin' rockin' blues fun shows just what the Thorogood style has been all about all these years and why he has been so successful, just listen to the songs, it tells the story. Who could forget the line from "Get a Haircut" - Get a haircut and get a real job, clean up your act and don't be a slob, get it together like your big brother Bob or the tongue in cheek "I Drink Alone" - Ya know when I drink alone, I prefer to be by myself. These are classic lines from one of the very best storytellers, guitar players and vocalist rock music has ever had onstage or in the recording studio, period.

To add a little spice to the pot some live tracks and remixes make for a complete George Thorogood experience. This is not a bad package for one CD I must say. As much as people shake their fist at corporate America and major labels at times, and that includes yours truly, you cannot deny how you appreciate great CDs like this. Go ahead - tell me you won't buy this CD if you are a real blues-rock fan! Who do you love? "American Made" George Thorogood that's who.

Track Listing:

1. Madison Blues (4:29)
2. One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer (8:25)
3. Move It on Over (4:17)
4. Who Do You Love (4:23)
5. Bad to the Bone (4:53)
6. I Drink Alone (4:32)
7. Gear Jammer (4:33)
8. Willie and the Hand Jive (4:03)
9. The Sky Is Crying (live) (8:01)
10. Reelin' and Rockin' (live) (5:48)
11. You Talk too Much (4:34)
12. If You Don't Start Drinkin' (I'm Gonna Leave) (4:11)
13. Get a Haircut (4:07)
14. Rockin' My Life Away (3:27)
15. American Made (4:06)
16. Who Do You Love (Rothrock mix) (3:35)

1 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: George Thorogood Is Ridin' Til' He Dies.

TrackBack URL for this entry:

» poker from poker

poker Illness is the night-side of life, a more onerous citizenship. Everyone who is born holds dual citizenship, in the kingdom of the well and Read More

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by fountainhead published on April 14, 2004 11:32 PM.

March Poll Results was the previous entry in this blog.

Hey Cats - Everybody Needs To Read This! is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Powered by Movable Type 4.01